CAWI has the honour to announce the first Caroline Andrew Civic Engagement Award, named after one of our co-founders, Caroline Andrew. Caroline was a a firm believer in the power of community mobilization to bring about change in society. In this spirit, Caroline and Fran Klodawsky, Professor Emeritus at Carleton University, obtained a one-year research grant to determine barriers to city decision-making faced by the full diversity of women. After that,  the countless connections that Caroline provided at the local, national and international level that laid a solid foundation for the organization that CAWI would become.

To commemorate her legacy, CAWI will recognize the efforts of women who work everyday to increase Civic Engagement in Ottawa with the Caroline Andrews Award. The community – you!- is the one who will nominate women that could receive the prize. Do you know a woman who made the difference in the community mobilizing people for change? Nominate them for the Caroline Andrew Civic Engagement Award!

The nominee must identify as a woman, be a CAWI member and have attended ate least 3 meetings in the last twelve months. They can be an individual organizer, a founder of an initiative or part of an organization.  Examples of Civic Engagement efforts could be organizing rallies and depositions at City Hall, found creative solutions to tackle immediate necessities, make voter participation easier and many other.

Use this form to nominate one of the incredible women we have in our community! Nominations are open until July 31.

Caroline Andrew

Professor of Political Science, Dean of Social Sciences and Director of the Centre on Governance at the University of Ottawa, Caroline Andrew was a trailblazer for advancement of women’s rights. In 1984 she moderated the first and only national leaders’ debate on women’s issues. CAWI was pleased to contribute, in 2012, to the nomination and celebrate her receiving the Governor General’s Award in Commemoration of the Persons Case. Caroline was also invested into the Order of Canada in 2015.